Group Photo of the EC-34 Meeting (4-5 June 2024)

Group Photo of the GC-24 Meeting (6 June 2024)

CIRDAP in collaboration with the Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives (MoAC), Thailand organized the 34th session of the Executive Committee (EC-34) and the 24th Session of CIRDAP Governing Council (GC-24) Meeting on 4-6 June, 2024 at the Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, Bangkok, Thailand.

The EC-34 meeting was held on 4-5 June with the attendance of the Executive Committee Members of 14 CIRDAP member countries, the representatives of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific (FAO RAP), the representatives of development partners, and observers. Whereas, the GC-24 meeting was held on 6th June 2024; and the Honorable Ministers, Deputy Ministers, Secretaries, Representatives of the Embassies in Thailand and other distinguished members of the CIRDAP member countries joined the GC meeting.

For the Governing Council of CIRDAP, H.E Mr. Md Tazul Islam MP, the Honorable Minister of Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives of Bangladesh, was elected as the Chairperson and H.E. Sakiasi Raisevu Ditoka, the Honorable Minister of Rural & Maritime Development and National Disaster Management of Fiji was elected as the Vice Chairperson for the next two years. Whereas, for the Executive Committee of CIRDAP, Mr. To Viet Chau, Deputy Director General of the Department of International Cooperation, Ministry of Rural Development of Viet Nam was elected as the Chairperson and Mosammat Shahanara Khatun, Secretary of Rural Development and Cooperative Division, Ministry of Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives of Bangladesh was elected as the Vice Chairperson. The venue for the GC-25 and the EC-35 meetings will be taken place in Bangladesh in the 2nd Quarter of 2026.

At the opening ceremony of the GC-24 meeting and the award ceremony of the Aziz-Ul Haq Rural Development Medals on 6th June 2024, Dr. Cherdsak Virapat, Director General, CIRDAP welcomed all the Governing Council & the Executive Committee members of CIRDAP; Ambassadors & diplomatic mission in Thailand; awardees of the Aziz-Ul Haq Rural Development Medals, and distinguished participants, etc

In the three days of the meetings, the member countries reviewed the centre’s performance, provided policy advice and discussed how to achieve the center’s goal. The Governing Council also elected and appointed Dr. P. Chandra Shekara from India as an incoming Director- General of CIRDAP for the next four years effectively from 10 September 2024 to 9 September 2028.

Besides, the representatives of the CIRDAP Member Countries, international, regional and national organizations provided their statements of cooperation as observers. These includes African-Asian Rural Development Organization (AARDO) India, Asia Cooperation Dialogue (ACD) Kuwait, Asian NGO Coalition for Agrarian Reform and Rural Development (ANGOC) The Philippines, Asian Plus Three Emergency Rice Reserve (APTERR) Thailand, Aspire to Innovate – a2i Bangladesh, Bangladesh Shrimp and Fish Foundation (BSFF) Bangladesh, The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC), Centre for Disability in Development (CDD), Cooperative Auditing Department (CAD), FAO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific (FAO RAP) Thailand, International Institute for Trade and Development (ITD) Thailand, National Cooperative Development Corporation (NCDC) India, National Institute of Rural Development & Panchayati Raj (NIRD&PR) India, Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia-Pacific (NACA) Thailand.